Meat free can be pretty tasty!

You did not actually think I would allow the cats all the tasty goodness this month did you? I noticed that there were many other dog options to test out. Those stinky cats trying to trick me by saying it was cat only stuff to test out. You can teach us tricks, but you certainly aren’t going to trick us.

Icky kitty aka Bater likes two brands of food to eat. One of those brands is called Halo. I noticed that this month, Halo dog treats was one of the things we could test out. They are called Halo Healthsome. They are also vegetarian treats!  That means that the treats contain zero meat. Now I know I have gone on and on about how I am a descendant of the mighty wolf and I need my meat. Well that is very true, but this is a treat. Totally different rules apply when it comes to treats. Food = meat, treats = whatever is good and tasty, but also healthy.

img_1841

These are crunchy biscuit treats that contain peanut and pumpkin.They also have lots of other veggies. The complete ingredient list is as follows: Potato Flour, Ground Peanuts, Tapioca Flour, Ground Peas, Canola Oil, Pumpkin, Tomatoes, Apples, Sweet Potatoes, Cranberries, Carrots, Split Peas, Broccoli, Parsley, and Ascorbic Acid (a Preservative).

We like that these treats have ingredients that you can actually pronounce with ease and can find most of those ingredients in the produce section at the grocery store. Even though peas are in the list twice, they make it so you cannot actually tell that peas are inside. It is trickery, but tasty trickery.

img_1846

The treats are pretty big. They are 27 kcals a piece. Those of you who have been reading my blog for a while now, know that I am on a stupid diet. My treats are limited to 80 calories a day. My dental chew takes up 40 of that, so only 40 calories left for my treats. I can have one of these with my dental chew and still have calories left for a couple training treats. A girl that has to watch her calorie intake will indeed make sure that she gets the max amount of treats allowed.

img_1849

Now that we got all the stuff about calories and ingredients out of the way, you probably are wondering what I thought about these meatless crunchy treats? I loved them! They are super crunchy and tasty. I licked them and crunched them, and made sure I licked up all the pieces that fell. I even got to have three whole treats! It was for testing purposes, so that one extra calorie is okay. I tried to get one more treat from mom, but that was not  happening. She said I had enough and would have to wait until the next day to get one more.

Mom says the treats smell just fine. They are not stinky at all. She is weird like that. She smells all my treats. She said they smell like people food. Duh! It is made from people food. She wishes that they were less calories, but they can easily be broken in half to cut down on the amount of calories.

So mom and I are both happy with these yummy vegetarian treats! I give them 4 paws up. If you would like to learn more about Halo Healthsome Treats then you should totally click here

Chewy.com has other Halo food and treats to look at as well as so many other things!

Since we had to say goodbye to Vine, we are using Instagram to showcase my treat eating skills! Check me out here.

 

************************We received this product at no cost to us in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and stuff are mine and mine alone*****************

Leave a Reply

